Tuesday, March 3, 2020

3 New Agents Seeking Science Fiction, MG, YA, Memoirs, Literary Fiction, Nonfiction and more

Here are three new agents seeking clients. New agents are a boon to writers. They are actively expanding their lists and will go the extra mile for their clients. Megan Barnard wants adult fiction, thrillers, memoirs, fairy-tale retellings, women's fiction, family sagas, and historical fiction. Ashley Herring Blake is acquiring projects in Middle Grade, Young Adult, and Adult fiction. Reeves Hamilton is seeking Science fiction - particularly hard Sci-Fi, space opera, climate dystopias, and alternative histories, with some other interest in dark fantasy and classic-style sword and sorcery.

Always check the agency website and agent bio before submitting. Agents can switch agencies or close their lists, and submission requirements can change.

You can find a full list of agents actively seeking new clients here: Agents Seeking Clients

___________________________


Ms. Ashley Herring Blake of Rees Literary Agency

Ashley Herring Blake is the author of the Middle Grade novels Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World and The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James, as well as the Young Adult novels Suffer Love, How to Make a Wish, and Girl Made of Stars.

What she is seeking: She is actively acquiring projects in Middle Grade, Young Adult, and Adult fiction. In Middle Grade and Young Adult, she’s drawn to heartfelt contemporary and voice-driven stories, as well as magical realism, contemporary fantasy (all the fairies and witches, please), historical fiction, and graphic novels. She’s always ready for a fresh  Young Adult rom-com, especially those featuring LGBTQIA romances. Ashley is also seeking character-driven literary and upmarket Adult fiction and romance. Across all genres and ages, she is highly interested in marginalized and LGBTQIA voices, as well as stories that explore complex family relationships and friendships.

How to submit: When querying Ashley, please include your query letter and the first ten pages of your manuscript in the body of an email, with “Query” in the subject line. Ashley is only able to respond to queries she is interested in pursuing. You can contact her at ashley@reesagency.com.

___________________________

Mr. Reeves Hamilton of Vertical Ink Agency

Reeves Hamilton, a twenty-plus year veteran of the publishing industry, is a new agent at Vertical Ink.

What he is seeking: Science fiction - particularly hard Sci-Fi, space opera, climate dystopias, and alternative histories, with some other interest in dark fantasy and classic-style sword and sorcery.

How to submit: Send your query to: VIAQuery [at] Gmail [dot] com. Address your query to Reeves Hamilton in the subject line of your email. Send a concise email query and a synopsis or chapter outline for your project. In your email, please include your contact information, any relevant background information on yourself or your project, and a paragraph of description of your project.  All of this material must be included in the body of your email.
___________________________


Ms. Megan Barnard of Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency

Megan joined The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency as an associate agent in 2020, after interning for nearly three years at several top literary agencies, including P.S. Literary Agency and Folio Literary Management. She has worked as an editor and copywriter and has a BA in English (with a concentration in Creative Writing) from Hollins University. When not working, she runs, drinks coffee, and travels widely. Her favorite places to read across the globe are Île Saint-Louis in Paris, Pacific Grove, CA, and Portmagee, Ireland.

What she is seeking: Adult Fiction:
  • Historical- I particularly want historical fiction in the vein of Kate Morton, Kate Atkinson, and Susanna Kearsley. I prefer time periods after the 19th century (but will consider others). I also love what I think of as “historical fiction with magic”. 
  • Women’s Fiction- upmarket or commercial is fine  
  • Literary and upmarket- wonderful prose, but a strong commercial hook is important too. 
  • Family Sagas- I come from a big family, so I have a soft spot for stories about big families and/or sister/sibling relationships.  
  • Thrillers- in the vein of The Beloveds, The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl (I love unreliable narrators). I’m looking for psychological suspense over gore. A little blood is fine, a lot, not so much. 
  • Fairy tale retellings- I’m quite picky about these, they need to be new and fresh, but I love retellings that turn old fairy tales on their heads (think The Hazel Wood, Snow Glass Apples). I’d particularly love to find retellings outside the well-known western canon. Fairy tales/stories from all cultures are welcomed and encouraged. 
I’m not looking for any of the following: romance, erotica, epic fantasy, SF, YA, MG, picture books, short stories, screenplays, or poetry collections.

I’m only looking for narrative non-fiction right now. I particularly love memoirs that show beauty that comes out of adversity or pain, like Once More We Saw Stars by Jayson Greene, The Salt Path by Raynor Winn, and Educated by Tara Westover. I’m also interested in nature writing like that of Robert Macfarlane and John Lewis-Stempel. If you have something that combines memoir with nature writing like Amy Liptrot’s The Outrun, I definitely want to see it.

How to submit: Use her submission form HERE. For fiction, submit your query and your first five pages. For nonfiction, submit your query and proposal. Any emailed queries will be deleted unread.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...