Tuesday, April 6, 2021

6 New Agents Seeking Memoirs, Literary Fiction, SF/F, Romance, Horror and more

Here are six new literary agents actively building their client lists. Lee O'Brien is looking for books with clear stakes and an immersive world, as well as anything with lots of atmosphere, magic, monsters, intrigue, or a plot full of twists and turns across all age categories. Meridith Viguet is looking to represent adult “sweet spot” fiction that straddles the commercial and literary line as well as popular nonfiction, especially titles that examine life in rural areas in the US and around the world, and current, too-wild-to-be-true memoirs. 

Paige Terlip is actively building her list of illustrators and is especially looking for author-illustrators and graphic novel illustrators. Isabel Kaufman is seeking young adult fiction (all genres), science fiction/fantasy, romance, historical fiction, literary fiction, thrillers, horror, and graphic novels as well as narratives focused on travel, food, and the science of beauty. Lindsay Guzzardo represents adult fiction. Rukhsana Yasmin is focusing on non-fiction but she is also building a select fiction list, in particular, genre, literary and speculative fiction.

Always check the agency website and agent bio before submitting. Agents can switch agencies or close their lists, and submission requirements can change.

You can find a full list of agents actively seeking new clients here: Agents Seeking Clients.

_______________________

Rukhsana Yasmin
of The Good Literary Agency (UK)

Most recently deputy editor at Wasafiri, Yasmin entered the industry through an Arts Council England (ACE) diversity in publishing scheme after completing a degree in Physics from the University of Surrey and went on to work at award-winning publishers Saqi Books, Profile Books and Jacaranda. In 2012 she was awarded The Kim Scott Walwyn Prize for Women in Publishing and was a Bookseller Rising Star in 2014. She is a trustee of the Centre for Learning in Primary Education (CLPE), with particular interest in the representation of children of colour in books. In recent years she has been working with writers from predominantly under-represented communities, offering mentorship through workshops with Spread the Word, as well as one-to-one editorial care and development in narrative nonfiction and fiction in her role as Project Officer at Commonwealth Writers, part of the Commonwealth Foundation.

What she is seeking: Yasmin is focusing on non-fiction but she is also building a select fiction list, in particular, genre, literary and speculative fiction.

How to submit: Please read their submission guidelines HERENote: Yasmin only accepts submissions from UK residents.

_______________________


Lee O'Brien
of Irene Goodman Literary Agency

Originally from Long Island, Lee returned to New York to join IGLA after completing an MA in English literature from UC Davis. Since starting at IGLA in 2019, Lee has worked first as an intern, then as a junior agent and assistant. 

What they are seeking: Across all age categories, they’re looking for books with clear stakes and an immersive world, as well as anything with lots of atmosphere, magic, monsters, intrigue, or a plot full of twists and turns. They’re actively seeking underrepresented voices, and they have a particular soft spot for queer romance (whether it’s an epic love story or a first crush), ace rep, and trans kids with swords.

How to submit: See submission instructions HERE.

_______________________

Ms. Meridith Viguet
of Writers House 

"I joined Writers House in 2019 after beginning my career at the renowned scouting agency, Maria B. Campbell Associates, where I worked under a talented senior team to scout books for the general adult trade and children’s markets for clients in 22 countries, in addition to working in the agency's capacity as the exclusive inbound licensing literary representative for Netflix Films and Series. Once at Writers House, I spent two years working closely with longtime senior agent and company chair Amy Berkower."

What she is seeking: On the fiction side, I’ll be looking to represent adult “sweet spot” fiction that straddles the commercial and literary line and would fit beautifully on a book club list; speculative literary fiction in the vein of Catherine Lacey's THE ANSWERS, Melissa Broder's THE PISCES, or Otessa Moshfegh's MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION; and fresh, funny YA of all stripes, particularly titles that feature male protagonists and appeal to male and female readers alike. Across the board, I would love to represent own-voice stories that feature historically marginalized cultures.

I’m also looking to represent popular nonfiction, especially titles that examine life in rural areas in the US and around the world, and current, too-wild-to-be-true memoirs, especially those from younger authors. I’m drawn to works that dive into unique subcultures, an irresistible voice, and, above all, a sense of humor.

How to submit: Please send your query to mviguet@writershouse.com as an e-mail, along with the first 10-15 pages of your manuscript pasted into the body of the message. 

_______________________


Prior to becoming an Associate Agent, Paige was a Senior Assistant for Executive Agent Laura Rennert, and has been with ABLA for over three years. She comes to agenting with a background in marketing, design, and freelance editorial. She’s worked at Charlesbridge Publishing, The National Renewable Energy Laboratory, and a ranch in the Rockies. She has an MA in Children's Literature and an MFA in Writing for Children from Simmons University. If she’s not reading, you'll find her practicing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, re-watching the Great British Baking Show, or hiking with her Husky-Shepherd mix.

What she is seeking: Paige Terlip is actively building her list of illustrators and is especially looking for author-illustrators and graphic novel illustrators.

How to submit: Use her submission form HERE.


_______________________

Ms. Isabel Kaufman
of Fox Literary

Fox Literary is a boutique agency which represents commercial and literary fiction, along with select works of nonfiction that have broad commercial appeal.

What she is seeking: Young adult fiction (all genres), science fiction/fantasy, romance, historical fiction, literary fiction, thrillers, horror, and graphic novels. "We're always interested in books that cross genres and reinvent popular concepts with an engaging new twist (especially when there’s a historical and/or speculative element involved). On the nonfiction side: narratives focused on travel, food, and the science of beauty, as well as microhistories of all things decadent and frivolous."

How to submit: Email a query letter and the first 5 pages of your manuscript IN THE BODY OF THE EMAIL to submissions@foxliterary.com. Please include the name of the agent to whom the submission is directed in the salutation of your email.

_______________________

Ms. Lindsay Guzzardo
of Martin Literary Management

Through tenures at Amazon Publishing, Guideposts Books, and Penguin/Signet, Lindsay Guzzardo acquired and edited numerous bestselling titles to fantastic customer and trade reviews, particularly in commercial fiction, women's fiction, and romance. She edited Guideposts Books’ first New York Times-bestseller, "A Sweethaven Summer," and was one of the original editors brought onboard at Amazon Publishing, where she was pivotal in launching Montlake Romance. At Amazon, she acquired debut romantic suspense author Kendra Elliot, whose titles have sold eight million+ copies, and Marina Adair's bestselling Vineyard Series, which was turned into a hit movie trilogy for the Hallmark Channel. She was also nominated for three RITA Awards, the romance industry’s highest honor.

What she is seeking: Adult genre fiction.

How to submit: Please send a query letter and the first three chapters to: Lindsay@MartinLit.com

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...