Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Farrar, Straus and Giroux Open to Submissions - No agent required


Farrar, Straus and Giroux is an imprint of Macmillan, one of the Big Five publishers. The company is noted for its literary fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and children’s books.

Farrar, Straus and Giroux authors have won numerous National Book Awards, Pulitzer Prizes, as well as twenty-two Nobel Prizes in literature. Nobel Prize-winners include Knut Hamsun, Hermann Hesse, T. S. Eliot, Pär Lagerkvist, François Mauriac, Juan Ramón Jiménez, Salvatore Quasimodo, Nelly Sachs, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, Pablo Neruda, Eugenio Montale, Isaac Bashevis Singer, Czeslaw Milosz, Elias Canetti, William Golding, Wole Soyinka, Joseph Brodsky, Camilo José Cela, Nadine Gordimer, Derek Walcott, Seamus Heaney, and Mario Vargas Llosa.

That impressive list is equaled by the poets Farrar, Straus and Giroux has published, including Elizabeth Bishop, Ted Hughes, Philip Larkin, John Ashbery, Thom Gunn, and Les Murray.

Astonishingly for a major publisher, they accept unsolicited submissions. All submissions must be submitted through the mail—they do not accept electronic submissions, or submissions delivered in person. Please include a cover letter describing your submission, along with the first 50 pages of the manuscript.

Note: Farrar, Straus and Giroux does not publish commercial or genre fiction. Their children's book division only accepts submissions that are represented by an agent.

Read guidelines HERE.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...