Tuesday, April 2, 2019

4 Literary Agents Seeking Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Romance, MG, YA, Nonfiction and more

Here are four literary agents actively seeking clients. Jacqueline Lipton is currently seeking submissions for middle grade and young adult, both fiction (all genres) and nonfiction. Kerstin Wolf is looking for MG, YA, Young Adult, and Romance. Victoria Loder is interested in historical, mystery, thriller, horror, fantasy, steampunk, magical realism, paranormal fantasy, narrative non-fiction, feminist manifestos, memoir (travel and foodie). Chad Luibl wants narrative nonfiction with a strong emotional pull from journalists and writers who challenge the status quo. For fiction, he is drawn to novels that are more character or plot-driven, thrillers, speculative and historical fiction, and graphic novels.

Always check the agency website and agent bio before submitting. Agents can switch agencies or close their lists.

You can find a full list of agents actively seeking new clients here: Agents Seeking Clients

_____________________________

Jacqueline Lipton of Storm Literary Agency

Jacqueline Lipton holds an M.F.A. in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts and regularly teaches classes on writing and on legal aspects of publishing around the country for organizations like The Writing Barn, Savvy Authors, and a variety of adult education courses,  M.A. and M.F.A. programs, and libraries. Before joining Storm Literary Agency, she was a reader for literary agent, Susan Hawk for several years and a reader and member of the social media team for The YA Review Network (Y.A.R.N.)

What she is seeking: Jacqui is currently seeking submissions for middle grade and young adult, both fiction and nonfiction. While she’ll consider all genres (so please send anything!), she has a particular interest in science fiction, a good contemporary romance, retellings of classic stories, and mysteries of all kinds. She’ll consider fantasy and urban fantasy, although (sorry to say) dragons and high fantasy aren’t really her thing so if you’re the next George R.R. Martin, you might be better off submitting to someone else!

How to submit: Please email (only) to: jacqui.stormliteraryagency@gmail.com with QUERY: TITLE OF MANUSCRIPT in the subject line. It’s a good idea to also include whether it’s middle grade or YA. Please send your query letter and the first twenty pages of the manuscript in the body of your email. It is fine to note any other submission-ready and/or projects you’re working on in your query letter.

________________

Kerstin Wolf of D4EO Literary Agency

After years of interning at a number of literary agencies and publishers, freelance editing, and bookselling, Kerstin Wolf got her start as an agent in training at The Booker Albert Literary Agency before joining D4EO as a literary agent in February 2019.

What she is seeking: Middle Grade: Fantasy of any kind, Science fiction, Mysteries along the lines of The 39 Clues series, York: The Shadow Cipher by Laura Ruby, and Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett, Horror along the lines of Lockwood & Co.: The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud, Graphic novels.

Young Adult: Fantasy of any kind, Science fiction, Horror, Paranormal, Historical with magical elements, Steampunk along the lines of Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, Contemporary romance along the lines of Geekerella by Ashley Poston and When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, Graphic novels.

New Adult/Adult: Fantasy along the lines of V.E. Schwab's Shades of Magic series and Villains series and Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri
Women's fiction: Romance along the lines of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne and Josh and Hazel's, Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren

How to submit: To query Kerstin Wolf, please send your query and the first 10 pages of your manuscript through Query Manager

_______________________

Victoria Loder of The Rights Factory

Victoria Loder is a freelance writer, editor, and publishing professional based just outside of Toronto. She holds an Honours B.A. in English and History from U of T and graduated from the Centennial College publishing program in 2017. Her writing, both fiction and academic, has won her awards from the University of Toronto, where she also served as Editor-in-Chief of Scarborough Fair magazine. She can often be found at her local Starbucks drinking a grande peppermint mocha (even in summer) and reading—historical fiction and mystery/thrillers are her favourites, but she also loves a good ghost story, or non-fiction in the vein of “Fat Girl Walking” or “Shrewed.”

What she is seeking: Historical, mystery, thriller, horror, fantasy, steampunk, magical realism, paranormal fantasy, narrative non-fiction, feminist manifestos, memoir (travel and foodie).

How to submit: Use the submission form HERE.

______________________

Chad Luibl  of Janklow and Nesbit

A native of Virginia, Chad received a BA in English at Lynchburg University before moving to Eastern Europe to teach English for several years. While in Krakow, Poland, he got his MA in European Studies at Jagiellonian University, with a focus in Comparative Literature. He went on to get his MFA in Creative Writing at Virginia Commonwealth University, where he was also the coordinator of the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award, an intern in the Literature Department at the National Endowment for the Arts, and an editor at Blackbird and Broad Street literary journals.

What he is seeking: He is interested in narrative nonfiction with a strong emotional pull from journalists and writers who challenge the status quo. For fiction, he is particularly drawn to novels that are more character or plot-driven, thrillers that are as inventive as they are suspenseful, speculative and historical fiction that offer a nuanced perspective on place, and graphic novels that push the boundaries of the genre.

How to submit: Please send your material to submissions@janklow.com addressed to Chad Luibl
For fiction submissions, send an informative cover letter, a brief synopsis and the first ten pages. If you are sending an email submission, please include the sample pages in the body of the email below your query. For non-fiction submissions, send an informative cover letter, a full outline, and the first ten pages of the manuscript. If you are sending an email submission, please include the sample pages in the body of the email below your query.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...