Thursday, February 7, 2019

4 UK Agents Seeking Literary Fiction, Nonfiction, Genre Fiction and more

These four UK agents are actively seeking to expand their client lists. Will Francis has a particular interest in literary fiction, thrillers, speculative fiction, and genre writers with a literary edge, as well as non-fiction rooted in provocative, challenging ideas. Therese Coen wants everything. Jenny Hewson is looking for literary fiction, historical fiction, book club fiction, gothic fiction, narrative non-fiction, memoir and writing from academics and experts of all kinds. Judith Murray loves literary fiction and well-written genre fiction, including thrillers, crime, historical novels and women’s fiction; and literary non-fiction including history, biography, memoirs, cookery and travel writing.

Always check the agency website before submitting. Agents may switch agencies or close their lists, and submission requirements can change.

If these agents don't suit your needs, you can find a comprehensive list of new and established agents seeking clients here: Agents Seeking Clients.

_______________________________

Therese Coen of Hardman & Swainson Literary Agency

"Born and raised in Belgium, on a diet of frites and Tintin, I moved to England in my late teens with my family. I then stayed in London to do a History degree and Masters at University College London. Having been brought up bilingual, French and Dutch, then picking up German and obviously English later on, translation rights seemed like the logical next step. My first job in publishing was just down the road from my university at Bloomsbury Publishing on Bedford Square, where I started as an intern and left as Rights Executive. I later hopped across the square to work at Ed Victor ltd. where I was lucky enough to learn from one of the most renowned and experienced literary agents in the world, handling huge celebrity titles alongside Booker-prize winning authors."

What she is seeking: Therese is open to everything -  fiction and nonfiction. "In terms of adult fiction, I am a total sucker for historical (ranging across the commercial spectrum), and would love some more international historical stories ranging from the Renaissance era to the 20th Century. I’d love something set in the art world, a mystery, crime or romance. I love strong female characters, especially when they go through an evolution as the story progresses and gradually find that inner strength.

On the children’s fiction front, I love all things fantasy and adventure – across lands, time and space, and involving strong friendships and strong lead characters. I like very vivid, well-crafted and imaginative worlds, for example stories set in a toy factory, or an all-female pirate ship, or in an underwater world. I’d love some more adventures set in space, √† la Stark Trek and Wall-E. I want mysteries, quirky characters, explorers and imaginary friends."

How to submit: For fiction: send a query, and attach a one-page synopsis as well as the full manuscript to submissions@hardmanswainson.com. For nonfiction, send a proposal, a sample chapter, and the whole work if it is completed.

_______________________________

Jenny Hewson of Rogers, Coleridge & White

Jenny Hewson represents a wide range of award winning & bestselling authors from around the world, including Sarah Perry, Christos Tsiolkas, Thomas Keneally, Amy Sackville, Alexander MacLeod, Melissa Harrison and Ashley Hay.

What she is seeking: Jenny is interested in literary fiction, historical fiction (in the vein of Helen Dunmore, Kate Mosse, Elizabeth Gifford), book club fiction, gothic fiction (in the vein of The Turn of the Screw, Rebecca, Melmoth), narrative non-fiction, memoir and writing from academics and experts of all kinds who can present brilliant non-fiction ideas to a general readership, especially in the field of popular science.

How to submit: Send material to jennyh@rcwlitagency.com. For fiction send the first three chapters or approximately the first fifty pages of the work to a natural break, and a brief synopsis. For non-fiction send a proposal up to twenty pages in length explaining what the work is about and why you are best placed to write it.

_______________________________

Judith Murray of Greene & Heaton Ltd

Judith Murray joined the agency in 1995. She studied at Wadham College, Oxford and has a First in English Literature. She has worked as an editor at a number of UK publishing houses and as a talent scout for translation publishers.

What she is seeking: Judith loves literary fiction and well-written genre fiction, including thrillers, crime, historical novels and women’s fiction; and literary non-fiction including history, biography, memoirs, cookery and travel writing.

How to submit: Submissions should be sent by email to submissions@greeneheaton.co.uk. Please attach a synopsis and the first three chapters (or about fifty pages) to your query in Microsoft Word or PDF format. Mention the name of the agent in the subject line of your email.
_______________________________

Will Francis of Janklow and Nesbit (UK)

Will Francis joined Janklow & Nesbit in 2008. He represents writers of popular science and narrative history as well as novelists. Before starting his publishing career at Random House in 2000, he studied at King’s College London, and has lived in the US, India and Australia. Will regularly lectures on publishing and the changing role of the literary agent at conferences and universities across the UK, and can be found on Twitter @zcosini. He became Director of the UK office in 2013.

What he is seeking: He has a particular interest in literary fiction, thrillers, speculative fiction, and genre writers with a literary edge, as well as non-fiction rooted in provocative, challenging ideas.

How to submit: Please attach (Word format or PDF) your synopsis, and either the first three chapters or the first fifty pages, whichever you feel is appropriate to submissions@janklow.co.uk, including your name, the title of your work and the name of the agent you wish to submit to in the subject line. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...